

Council Assembly (Mayor Making)

MINUTES of the Council Assembly (Mayor Making) held on Saturday 7 June 2014 at 12.45 pm at Southwark Cathedral, Montague Close, London Bridge SE1 9DA

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor for 2013/14, Abdul Mohamed The Worshipful the Mayor for 2014/15, Councillor Sunil Chopra

Councillor Evelvn Akoto Councillor Richard Livingstone Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Rebecca Lury Councillor Jasmine Ali Councillor Vijay Luthra Councillor Jane Lyons Councillor James Barber Councillor Radha Burgess Councillor Eliza Mann Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Claire Maugham Councillor Neil Coyle Councillor Hamish McCallum Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Darren Merrill Councillor Catherine Dale Councillor Victoria Mills Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle MBE Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Nick Dolezal Councillor Jamille Mohammed

Councillor Karl Eastham Councillor Adele Morris Councillor Paul Fleming Councillor David Noakes Councillor Tom Flynn Councillor Damian O'Brien Councillor Dan Garfield Councillor James Okosun Councillor Chris Gonde Councillor Leo Pollak Councillor Lucas Green Councillor Lisa Rajan Councillor Renata Hamvas Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Martin Seaton Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Rosie Shimell Councillor Helen Haves Councillor Andy Simmons Councillor David Hubber Councillor Johnson Situ Councillor Michael Situ Councillor Peter John Councillor Ben Johnson Councillor Charlie Smith Councillor Eleanor Kerslake Councillor Cleo Soanes Councillor Kath Whittam Councillor Sarah King Councillor Anne Kirby Councillor Bill Williams

Councillor Sunny Lambe
Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE
Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall
Councillor Illi Williams
Councillor Kieron Williams
Councillor Mark Williams
Councillor Ian Wingfield

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The outgoing Mayor, Abdul Mohamed, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

The outgoing Mayor announced that the leaders of each political group wished to make a statement.

Thereafter, Councillors Peter John, Anood Al-Samerai and Michael Mitchell paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.

The outgoing Mayor asked for nominations for Mayor for the ensuing municipal year 2014/15.

Councillor Peter John, seconded by Councillor Fiona Colley, moved that Councillor Sunil Chopra be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2014/15.

Councillor Anood Al-Samerai, seconded by Councillor Adele Morris, moved that Councillor David Noakes be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2014/15

The nominations were put to the vote and it was:

RESOLVED: That Councillor Sunil Chopra be elected Mayor for the 2014/15 municipal year.

Councillor Sunil Chopra accepted the office of Mayor. The outgoing Mayor declared that Councillor Sunil Chopra was duly elected Mayor of Southwark for 2014/15.

The retiring Mayor, Abdul Mohamed invested the Mayor-elect, Councillor Sunil Chopra, with the badge of office. The new Mayor signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair. The new Mayor stated that his consort would be his wife, Varsha Chopra.

The Mayor appointed Councillor Neil Coyle as Deputy Mayor. The Deputy Mayor was invested with the badge of office.

The retiring Mayor, Abdul Mohamed, gave his outgoing speech. Thereafter, the retiring Mayor and his consort were presented with a replica of the Mayoral badge of the London Borough of Southwark.

The Mayor gave his incoming speech and announced that his chosen charities would be The Robes Project and Homes for Heroes.

2. PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

2.1 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

There were no announcements.

2.2	NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE MAYOR DEEMS URGENT
	There were none.
2.3	DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS
	There were none.
2.4	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
	Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Gavin Edwards and Maisie Anderson.
3.	OTHER REPORTS
4.	ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL STEERING PANEL 2014/15
	(See page 1-3 of the main agenda)
	The Mayor stated that in accordance with council assembly procedure rule 2.11 (2), the recommendations set out in the report were deemed to be moved and were subject to amendment only. He explained that no amendments had been received on the report.
	RESOLVED:
	1. That council assembly established the constitutional steering panel.
	2. That Councillor Dan Garfield be elected as chair of the constitutional steering panel.
	The meeting closed at 1.42pm.

CHAIR:

DATED: